Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tiggs

Meet the Dev: David Langeliers

4 posts in this topic

David Langeliers - Lead Producer @ IllFonic

I've been working in the video game industry for about 14 years now. The majority of that time was spent at THQ before they shut down. You can say what you want about THQ, but I loved my time working there. We had an awesome group of people in production and I got to work on some really amazing games during my time there, including Company of Heroes, Dawn of War, Saints Row, Metro, etc... 

I am one of those lucky people who fell into the industry without any formal education. When I was a kid I self taught myself computer hardware, software and programming. I made a few programs and mods for some old-school PC games, including some mods for DooM and Quake, and a simple level editor and viewer for the OG Quake 1 beta. I've always been a big video game nerd, and even after working in the industry for as long as I have, it hasn't spoiled games as a hobby, a passion and a way to relax. I still absolutely love playing games, I love the craft and I think always will. 

My favorite games of all time: Team Fortress 2, which I still play a few hours of on a weekly basis (Steam says I have over 1800 hours logged, which I'm not sure if that is a good or a bad thing), The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, both of the Super Mario Galaxy games and Super Mario World. I'm a really big fan of Nintendo games in general. The amount of care and polish that goes into almost every single one of their games is nothing short of amazing.